The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing - Mira Jacob

The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing

By Mira Jacob

  • Release Date: 2014-07-01
  • Genre: Family
4.5 Score: 4.5 (From 69 Ratings)
    e-Book format      Check For Availability Audiobook format   Check For Availability

Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, AND EMILY GOULD, THE MILLIONS

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.

 
With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life’s uncertainties.
 
Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle.
 
Reluctantly Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina’s rebellious brother Akhil, took to India twenty years earlier. Confronted by Thomas’s unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother’s garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family’s painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens.
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
“With wit and a rich understanding of human foibles, Jacob unspools a story that will touch your heart.”—People
 
“Optimistic, unpretentious and refreshingly witty.”—Associated Press
 
“By turns hilarious and tender and always attuned to shifts of emotion . . . [Jacob’s] characters shimmer with life.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“A rich, engrossing debut told with lightness and care.”The Kansas City Star
 
“[A] sprawling, poignant, often humorous novel . . . Told with humor and sympathy for its characters, the book serves as a bittersweet lesson in the binding power of family, even when we seek to break out from it.”O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“Moving forward and back in time, Jacob balances comedy and romance with indelible sorrow. . . . When her plot springs surprises, she lets them happen just as they do in life: blindsidingly right in the middle of things.”—The Boston Globe
 
“This is an effortlessly gorgeous and rich book. Its prose is lovely and precise, alternately luminous and direct; its observations of people and families and the physical world are poignant and a delight. The dialogue is sharp, funny, and true. This is a triumphant debut!”—Jonathan Ames, author of Wake Up, Sir!
 
“Comparisons of Jacob to Jhumpa Lahiri are inevitable; . . . both write with naked honesty about the uneasy generational divide among Indians in America and about family in all its permutations.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Reviews

  • The Sleepwalkers Guide to Dancing

    5
    By DSMerrell
    This book is one of finest measurements of storytelling. I will never forget this book, Mira, never. Dee Stewart Merrell Dallas, TX October 5, 2017
  • V

    2
    By hbuhhvb
    H
  • Full of life, depth, and magic!

    5
    By Jessie Kanzer
    This amazing novel rings true on so many levels: if you've ever lost someone close to you, lost yourself, or found yourself in the midst of family mayhem, you will feel that truth very deeply...and at the same time, it's very entertaining and touching to just observe the story being told. What this book does so well is portray the intricacies of relationships--from those with one's family and friends to relating to the world at large, as well as the world within. This work will make you laugh, cry, and it will stick in your mind long after you're finished reading it.

Comments